File 1 - Copy Letter Book

Reference code

IE CA CP/3/1/3/1


Copy Letter Book


  • c.1950 (Creation)
  • 1901-1950 (Accumulation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

543 pp; 32.5 cm x 22 cm; Bound volume, manuscript

Name of creator

(24 November 1900-26 July 1970)

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Scope and content

A volume containing copy correspondence of Fr. Senan Moynihan OFM Cap. Most of the letters are manuscript copies of Fr. Senan’s outgoing letters but the volume also includes some copies of letters received by the friar. A partial alphabetical and page index of correspondents is included at the start of volume. The spine is gilt-titled ‘Minute Book’. Contains personal letters and correspondence relating to the Capuchin Publications Office. Includes correspondence with Peter F. Anson, Fr. Henry Anglin OFM Cap., Séamus Ó Braonáin, Aodh de Blacam, Michael A. Bowles, Frank E. Benner, Captain Charles Brennan, Séamus Campbell (James J. Campbell), Maire Comerford, C.P. Curran, Eugene Collins, Fr. Christopher Crowley OFM Cap., Alice Curtayne, Joseph Connolly (Melford, Westfield Road, Dublin), Fr. Terence Connolly SJ, Archbishop John D’Alton, Bishop John Dignan, Fr. James Enright (Castleisland, County Kerry), Kevin R. Egan, Seán Feehan (Mercier Press), John English & Co. (printers), Patrick Gallagher, Fr. Gerald McCann OFM Cap., Carl Hardebeck, Fr. Hugh Morley OFM Cap., Doran Hurley, Sister M. Gertrude (Missionary Sisters of St. Columban, Cahiracon, Ennis, County Clare), Fr. Jerome Hawes TOSF (Mount Alvernia Hermitage, Cat Island, Bahamas), Fr. James O’Mahony OFM Cap., Seán Keating, Fr. Edward J. Kissane (President, Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth), Delia Murphy, T.J. Kiernan, Richard J. King, D.L. Kelleher, Benedict Kiely, Charles E. Kelly, Frieda Le Pla, Sir Shane Leslie, Dr. George Little, Patrick John Little, Fr. Frank Moynihan, Archbishop Sylvester Mulligan OFM Cap., An tAthair Micheál Ó Sé OFM Cap. (Fr. Michael O’Shea OFM Cap.), Fr. Christopher Mangan (Archbishop’s House, Dublin), Francis McCullagh, Herbert Mackey, Bishop William MacNeely, John McCormack, Lily McCormack, Maud Gonne MacBride, Cardinal Joseph MacRory, Major General Hugo MacNeill, Seumas MacManus, Br. Brendan Neary (Salesian Missionary College, Ballinakill, County Laois), Fr. James T. Nolan, Joseph O’Connor (Seosamh Ó Conchubhair), May O’Connell (Melbourne, Australia), Seán T. O’Kelly (President of Ireland), Art O’Brien, Vincent O’Brien, Archbishop Redmond Prendiville, Jarlath A. O’Connell, Fr. Thomas O’Donnell CM (Rector, All Hallows College, Dublin), Fr. Paschal Robinson OFM (Papal Nuncio to Ireland), Canon Patrick Rogers, Colin Johnston Robb, Máirín Cregan (‘Mrs James Ryan’), Fr. Xavier Reardon OFM Cap. (Cathedral, Simla, India), William Frederick Paul Stockley, Germaine Stockley, Iseult Gonne (‘Mrs Francis Stuart’), Oscar Traynor, Éamon de Valera, Val Vousden (Bill MacNevin), Mrs F.L. Vickerman, Joseph Patrick Walshe (Irish Ambassador to the Holy See), Victor Waddington, Mervyn Wall, Archbishop Joseph Walsh, Joseph B. Whelehan, Eleanor Barnes (Lady Yarrow), and Jack B. Yeats.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English
  • French
  • Irish

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions


The volume includes copy correspondence (c.1901-1946) of Fr. Stephen Glendon OP and Fr. Henry S. Glendon OP with Michael Healy, Evie Hone, Edward Martyn, and others (pp 59-77). The copy correspondence is in the hand of Fr. Senan Moynihan OFM Cap.


Biographical Entries and Notes for Correspondents

Aodh de Blacam:
Michael A. Bowles:
Maud Gonne MacBride:
Séamus Ó Braonáin:
Marie Comerford:
C.P. Curran:
Alice Rynne (née Curtayne):
Joseph Connolly:
Archbishop John D’Alton:
Fr. Terence L. Connolly SJ:
Bishop John Dignan:
Seán Feehan:
Patrick Gallagher:
Carl Hardebeck:
Doran Hurley:
Fr. Jerome Hawes TOSF:
Seán Keating:
Fr. Edward J. Kissane:
Delia Murphy:
T.J. Kiernan:
Richard King:
Benedict Kiely:
Charles E. Kelly:
Frieda Le Pla:
Sir Shane Leslie:
Patrick John Little:
Francis McCullagh:
John McCormack:
Cardinal Joseph MacRory:
Seumas MacManus:
Seán T. O’Kelly:
Art O'Brien:
Vincent O'Brien:
Archbishop Redmond Prendiville:
Fr. Paschal Robinson OFM:
Colin Johnston Robb:
Máirín Cregan:
William Frederick Paul Stockley:
Oscar Traynor:
Éamon de Valera:
Val Vousden (Bill MacNevin):
Joseph Walshe:
Victor Waddington:
Mervyn Wall:
Joseph Whelehan:
Eleanor Barnes (Lady Yarrow):,1577481
Jack B. Yeats:
Michael Healy:
Evie Hone:
Edward Martyn:

Alternative identifier(s)

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area