Showing 6367 results

Archival description
Irish Capuchin Archives
Print preview Hierarchy View:

2915 results with digital objects Show results with digital objects

1916 Rising

The sub-series comprises papers relating to the ministries undertaken by Fr. Aloysius Travers OFM Cap. to various republicans detained after the Easter Rising. The section includes authorisations and passes from British forces allowing him to visit Kilmainham Jail and extracts from various letters written by republican prisoners in the immediate aftermath of the Rising.

1916 Rising

Negative film transparencies of various photographic prints and documents used to illustrate commemorative features on the 1916 Rising in 'The Capuchin Annual' (1942) and in 'The Capuchin Annual' (1966). Several of the prints show rebel leaders, scenes of destruction in the aftermath of the Rising, and an illustration showing the execution of a rebel leader in Kilmainham Jail.

1916 Rising and War of Independence

A collection of pamphlets and reports covering the national movement principally from c.1915-1921. The sub-series comprises printed ephemera such as fliers, handbills, and other publications.

1916 Rising Golden Jubilee Commemorations

Photographic prints compiled for a feature commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of the 1916 Rising, published in 'The Capuchin Annual' (1967), pp 101-30. The article was titled ‘Ireland remembers with pride Easter Week 1916 in Golden Jubilee celebrations’. Many of the prints are of various parades of veterans and civic events commemorating the Rising. Some of the prints are annotated on the reverse giving location, photographer and copyright information. The file includes prints from the 'Irish Press', Kennelly’s Photo Works, Tralee, and the 'Cork Examiner'. Includes images of parades and commemorations in Dublin, Belfast, Cork, Limerick, Dundalk, Tralee, Tullamore, Waterford, and London. The file includes the following images:
• Jubilee Parade at the GPO on O’Connell Street, Dublin.
• Florence Monteith Lynch and Nuala Creagh at Banna Strand, County Kerry.
• 1916 commemoration in Tullamore, County Offaly.
• Siobhan McKenna reads the 1916 proclamation in Eyre Square, Galway.
• Republican gathering at Thomas Kent’s grave in St. Finbarr’s Cemetery, Cork.
• Members of Cumann na mBan and the old-IRA at the unveiling of a monument in Ennis, County Clare.
The file also includes a small number of related newspaper clippings.

1916 Rising Prisoners in Stafford Jail

A large group of Irish prisoners detained in Stafford Jail in England following the 1916 Rising. The print is annotated on the reverse: ‘photograph believed to be the largest group of 1916 men taken’. Stafford Jail was converted for use as a military detention barracks and was used to hold Irish internees before their transfer to Frongoch Internment Camp in North Wales.

47-50 North King Street

This section includes deeds, leases and other legal documents relating to the acquisition of properties and plots of ground at 47-50 North King Street. In 1861, Fr. Lawrence Gallerani OSFC was appointed Capuchin Commissary General in Ireland. He immediately set about the task of building a new Capuchin Friary and Church in Dublin. When he could not procure any ground near the existing chapel on Church Street (except on a short lease of thirty years), he begun to look for another site, and found one at 47-50 North King Street. With the permission of the Most Rev. Paul Cullen (1803-1878), Archbishop of Dublin, he set about acquiring these sites. First, he got possession of nos. 49 and 50 and the two houses were fitted up as a temporary friary pending the erection of new buildings. On 23 July 1862, the Capuchin community left their residence at 18 Queen Street and took up residence in North King Street. Later that year, Fr. Gallerani obtained possession of two more houses (nos. 47-8), and on the advice of the Archbishop, began to build a friary before commencing work on a new church. Partly as a result of the opposition of the parish clergy of St. Michan’s, the Capuchins went no further on North King Street than building the friary which they inhabited for several years. The North King Street properties were sold by the Capuchins in 1883, when the present-day Friary was built on Church Street.

A Ballad of Easter Week

Copy poem by M.J. MacManus titled ‘A Ballad of Easter Week’. It is noted that the poem was first published in the 'Irish Press', 25 Mar. 1940.

A Belfast Painter’s Rambles in Dublin

A clipping of an article on street life in Dublin written by the Belfast-based artist George Campbell. The article was published in the ‘Irish Travel’ magazine in February 1945. Campbell’s article includes a description of the stalls and markets on Horseman’s Row which formed part of the old Anglesea Market site near Moore Street. Reference is also made to Campbell's visit to the office of ‘The Capuchin Annual’ on nearby Capel Street, occupied by the editors of the periodical, Fr. Senan Moynihan OFM Cap. and Fr. Gerald McCann OFM Cap.

Results 31 to 40 of 6367